69 million page views


Reader comment on item: [Breivik and] Norway's Terrorism in Context

Submitted by Mathias Hellsten (Sweden), Jul 27, 2011 at 09:19

Scandinavia is the three countries encompassed by the Scandic mountains. Those are Sweden, Finland and Denmark. There are also the Nordic countries, that form a historic bond and consisting of Scandinavia, Finland (that was part of Sweden until the early 18th century) and Iceland (Danish untill modern times). But Finland and Iceland is not part of Scandinavia. Just a matter of definition, I have nothing to add or correct on the subject-matter of your article.


Note: Opinions expressed in comments are those of the authors alone and not necessarily those of Daniel Pipes. Original writing only, please. Comments are screened and in some cases edited before posting. Reasoned disagreement is welcome but not comments that are scurrilous, off-topic, commercial, disparaging religions, or otherwise inappropriate. For complete regulations, see the "Guidelines for Reader Comments".

Daniel Pipes replies:

Technically, you are right but in common English usage, all five countries are also included.

Follow Daniel Pipes

Facebook   Twitter   RSS   Join Mailing List

All materials by Daniel Pipes on this site: © 1968-2024 Daniel Pipes. daniel.pipes@gmail.com and @DanielPipes

Support Daniel Pipes' work with a tax-deductible donation to the Middle East Forum.Daniel J. Pipes

(The MEF is a publicly supported, nonprofit organization under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Contributions are tax deductible to the full extent allowed by law. Tax-ID 23-774-9796, approved Apr. 27, 1998.

For more information, view our IRS letter of determination.)